
If you want to file a… 

SMALL CLAIMS  
Complaint & Summons 

($3,500 or Under) 

Forms……………Small Claims Overview for Plaintiff 

Pima County Justice Courts, Arizona

 Plaintiff/Defendant Checklist

    How to Designate and Serve a Party 

     Complaint 

 Summons 

 Notice of Authorization to Appear

 Proof of Service by Registered or Certified Mail

     Defendant's Answer

 Notice to Plaintiff and Defendant



SMALL CLAIMS  
OVERVIEW FOR PLAINTIFF 

1. Small Claims:  The small claims process is an inexpensive, quick, and informal way to
resolve civil disputes up to $3,500, plus court costs. You must sue for a monetary amount.
You cannot sue the defendant related to an item, for example a boat or a dog. Be aware that
there is no right to appeal a small claims judgment.  If you want to reserve your right to appeal
you must file your case in the civil division.

2. Legal Advice:  Court staff is not allowed to provide legal advice. You must follow the Arizona
Revised Statutes and Rules of Procedure for Small Claims Cases that apply in your lawsuit. The
statutes and rules are available in many public libraries and at the courthouse. The statutes
are also online at the Arizona State Legislature , and the rules are online at the Arizona
Judicial Branch Court Rules.  For legal advice, you may contact Southern Arizona Legal Aid,
Inc. or Pima County Bar Association.

3. Parties:  Persons in a lawsuit are called “parties.” There is a “plaintiff” and a “defendant.
A “plaintiff” is someone who files a lawsuit against a “defendant”.

4. Complaint and Service:  When filing your law suit you must properly name the party(s). See
examples on page 3. The complaint must briefly state the factual basis for the claim. You
must serve the complaint, summons and a copy of the “Notice to Defendant(s) within 45
calendar days or your case may be dismissed. You may serve the defendant by certified mail, a
constable or private process server. Proof of service must be filed with the court.

5. Filing Fee:  The cost of filing a small claims complaint is $55.00.  You will be required to pay
the filing fee prior to submitting your case to the court.  If you cannot afford the filing fee you
may apply for a Fee Waiver or Deferral at the court.  You will not be able to file your case on-
line if you are unable to pay the fee.

6. Representation:  Individuals represent themselves in a small claims lawsuit.  There are usually
no attorneys unless both parties stipulate.  One spouse may represent both spouses.  A full-
time corporate officer or authorized employee may represent a partnership; an active member
or an authorized full-time employee may represent an association; and any other organization
may be represented by one of its active members or authorized full-time employees.

7. Transfer to Civil Division:  Either party may request a transfer of the lawsuit from the Small
Claims Division to the regular Civil Division of the Justice Court up to 10 days prior to the
hearing. A transfer will allow:

(1) Either party to have an attorney;
(2) The defendant to file a counterclaim for more than $3,500;
(3) Either party to file motions that are not permitted in small claims lawsuits;
(4) Parties to have a jury trial; and
(5) A party to have the right to appeal.

8. Motions:  There are only two motions allowed in Small Claims: Motion for Change of Venue
and Motion to Vacate Judgment. A response to the motion, if filed, must be submitted within ten
(10) days after the motion is served.

9. Answer: The defendant must file a written answer within twenty (20) calendar days from the
date they are served with the summons and complaint, and mail a copy to you.  If the
defendant fails to answer the complaint timely you must initiate default proceedings in
accordance with Rule 21(b), Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure.
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SMALL CLAIMS  OVERVIEW FOR 
PLAINTIFF (continued) 

10. Counterclaim:  The defendant may file a counterclaim asserting that you owe something. 
The counterclaim must be filed within 20 days of service of the summons, complaint and 
notice.  The amount of the counterclaim cannot exceed $3,500.

11. Counterclaim Reply: The plaintiff has 20 calendar days from receipt to file a reply to the 
counterclaim with the court and mail a copy to the defendant.

12. Hearing: The court will set a 30-minute hearing within 60 days from the date the answer is 
filed.  A hearing officer who has received specialized training will conduct the hearing. Both 
parties must appear at all scheduled hearings and provide supporting evidence for their 
claims and defenses.  If you fail to appear at a hearing, the court may enter a judgment 
against you.

13. Continuance: Either party may request a continuance for good cause. If you no longer 
reside in the area or attending court would result in a financial hardship you may request a 
telephonic hearing. However, you may be at a disadvantage since all evidence must be 
submitted to the court before the hearing.

14. Dismissal: If the matter settles prior to the hearing date, file a notice of dismissal with the 
court.  If it settles after the defendant has filed an answer, both parties must sign and submit 
a Stipulated Dismissal form with the court.

15. Default Judgment: If you fail to file an answer within the specified time a default judgment 
may be filed. You must still provide evidence to support your claim

 16. Change of Address:  You must keep the court informed of your current address and 
telephone number until the lawsuit is over. 
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The following checklist may assist you in processing your case.

IF ANSWER IS RECEIVED:
      Date defendant files an ANSWER

 IF NO ANSWER IS RECEIVED:

      APPLICATION FOR ENTRY OF DEFAULT filed with
       court and copy mailed to defendant 

 NOTICE to PARTY filing for Default:
   Anytime after ten (10) judicial days have passed since the 
   filing of this Application, it is your responsibility to file a 
   Request for Entry of Default Judgment or request a hearing. 
   Statement of Cost and proof of the claim (receipts, contract, 
   etc.) must also be served upon all the parties in this lawsuit.

      Date time to REPLY TO COUNTERCLAIM expires

       If the defendant files a counterclaim YOU must file a 
       reply to the counterclaim within twenty (20) calendar days. 
       If you fail to file a reply, the defendant may obtain a default 
       judgment against you.

       If you intend to file a counterclaim you must do so at the 
       same time the Answer is filed. You must use the proper 
       form and mail a copy to the plaintiff.

      Date time to REPLY expires 

      Date plaintiff files a REPLY

  IF NO REPLY TO COUNTERCLAIM IS RECEIVED:

      APPLICATION FOR ENTRY OF DEFAULT filed with court 
      and copy mailed to plaintiff

  NOTICE to PARTY filing for Default:
   Anytime after ten (10) business days have passed since the 
filing of this Application, it is your responsibility to file a    
Request for Entry of Default Judgment or request a hearing.    
Statement of Cost and proof of the claim (receipts, contract,    
etc.) must also be served upon all the parties in this lawsuit.

PLAINTIFF CHECKLIST

Date COMPLAINT filed and filing fee paid _____________

Date SUMMONS and COMPLAINT given to process
server for service on defendant(s) ______________

Date COMPLAINT served _______________

Date time to ANSWER expires ________________
(twenty (20) days after defendant served / thirty (30)
days if served out-of-state)

DEFENDANT CHECKLIST

If you object to the venue (the precinct in which the 
complaint was filed) you must file a Motion for Change of 
Venue for Improper Venus before the answer is filed.

Date answer filed and filing fee paid ________________ 
(Within twenty (20) calendar days of the date you were 
served / thirty (30) days if served out-of-state)

      If you fail to file an answer, the plaintiff may
         obtain a default judgment against you.

      Date COUNTERCLAIM filed and copy mailed to plaintiff
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HOW TO DESIGNATE AND SERVE A PARTY 

AN INDIVIDUAL
John Jones

1234 S. Main Street
Tucson, AZ 85040

SERVE: The party must be served with a copy of 
the summons and complaint.

HUSBAND AND WIFE
       John and Mary Jones, husband and wife

1234 S. Main Street 
Tucson, AZ 85040

SERVE: Each spouse must be served a copy of the
summons and complaint. One spouse may be
served with the other spouse's copies if they reside
at the same residence.

TWO OR MORE DEFENDANTS
SERVE: Each named defendant must be
served a copy of the summons and complaint.

   JOHN SMITH 
1234 S. Main Street
 Tucson, AZ 85040

MARY JONES
1000 E. First Street 
Tucson, AZ 85040

WHEN THE NAME OF THE DEFENDANT IS UNKNOWN
Matilda DOE Upon service, when the defendant's true name is

JOHN DOE Taylor discovered, the pleadings may be amended to
XYZ Corporation reflect the true name.

SOLE OWNERSHIP
John Jones, Dba

Jones' Delicious Candy Shoppe 
1234 S. Main Street
Tucson, AZ 85040

SERVE: The Owner

PARTNERSHIP
 JOHN SMITH and JOE JONES, Partners

Dba JJ's Cafe
1000 E. First Street
Tucson, AZ 85040 

SERVE either:
1. A Partner
2. A Managing or general agent
3. An Agent authorized by appointment

CORPORATION       LLC COMPANY
UNINCORPORATED ASSOCIATION

ABC Candy Store, Inc. 
1234 S. Main Street 
Tucson, AZ 85040

SERVE: Statutory Agent, as follows:
John Jones, Statutory Agent

5678 N. Eezee St. 
Tucson, AZ 85040

If serving a statutory agent, you must mail a copy to 
the party on whose behalf the agent received service.
Service may also be effected upon:

1. An Officer of the corporation - President, Vice-
President, Secretary, Treasurer
2. A Managing or general agent
3. An Agent authorized by appointment or law

PARENTS OF A MINOR

If the minor is under 16 years of age,
SERVE: The Minor and the parent or guardian
        John and Mary Jones, husband and wife 
             Parents of Johnny Jones, a minor 

1234 S. Main Street
Tucson, AZ 85040

If the minor is 16 years of age or more,
SERVE: The Minor

          SERVING THE DIRECTOR OF INSURANCE
SERVE: The Statutory Agent
If the statutory agent is the DIRECTOR OF INSURANCE
SERVE:         The DIRECTOR OF INSURANCE

400 W. Congress #152
Tucson, AZ 85701

      SERVING THE REGISTRAR OF CONTRACTORS
SERVE: Registrar's Legal Officer and the Bonding
company must be named as a defendant and served.

CORPORATION COMMISSION: To determine 
Statutory Agent for a business or corporation contact: 
State of Arizona Corporation Commission 400 W. 
Congress, Tucson, AZ 85701 Phone: (520) 628-6560
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Interpreter:       Yes, I need interpreter services.  Language:  __________________ 

Pima County Justice Courts, Arizona

CASE NUMBER:

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

______________________
Plaintiff(s)  Name / Address / Email / Phone

240 N. Stone Ave.    Tucson, AZ 85701 601 N. La Cañada Dr.     Green Valley, AZ 85614 
     

111 W. La Mina Ave.     Ajo, AZ 85321240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 601 N. La Cañada Dr., Green Valley, AZ 85614 111 W. La Mina Ave., Ajo, AZ 85321 
     

SMALL CLAIMS COMPLAINT

 $__________ is the total amount owed me by defendant because:

Date:  _____________     _________________________________      ____________________________________

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3717 601 N. La Cañada Dr., Green Valley, AZ 85614 (520) 222-0200 
     

111 W. La Mina Ave., Ajo, AZ 85321 (520) 387-7684 
     

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171 

PLAINTIFF'S CLAIM

NOTICE: If you are representing a corporation, partnership, association, or other organization, you must attach a notice of authorization.

Plaintiff (Print name)

CVSC2 Rev. 1/1/2020

__________________________________ 
Defendant  Name

__________________________________ 
Defendant  Name

__________________________________ 
Defendant  Name

__________________________________ 
Defendant  Name

THERE ARE NO APPEALS IN SMALL CLAIMS CASES.  
WARNING:  You do not have the right to appeal the decision of the hearing officer or the justice of the peace in a small 
claims court.  If you wish to preserve your right to appeal, you may have your case transferred to the justice court 
pursuant to § 22-504, subsection A, Arizona Revised Statutes, if you request such transfer at least ten (10) days prior to 
the day of the scheduled hearing.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Plaintiff (Signature)



Pima County Justice Courts, Arizona

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

______________________
Defendant's  Name / Address / Email / Phone

CASE NUMBER:

The Statutory Agent /  Corporate Officer to be served is:

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

______________________
Plaintiff(s)  Name / Address / Email / Phone

240 N. Stone Ave.    Tucson, AZ 85701 601 N. La Cañada Dr.     Green Valley, AZ 85614 
     

111 W. La Mina Ave.     Ajo, AZ 85321240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 601 N. La Cañada Dr., Green Valley, AZ 85614 111 W. La Mina Ave., Ajo, AZ 85321 
     

SMALL CLAIMS SUMMONS

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3717 601 N. La Cañada Dr., Green Valley, AZ 85614 (520) 222-0200 
     

111 W. La Mina Ave., Ajo, AZ 85321 (520) 387-7684 
     

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171 
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_____________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________

_____________________________________________
Name / Address / Email / Phone

Replacement

Date:
Clerk

TO THE ABOVE-NAMED DEFENDANT: The above-named plaintiff(s) has sued you in small 
claims court. You are summoned to appear and defend. You must file with this court a written 
answer to the complaint within twenty (20) days after service and deliver a copy to the plaintiff. If you 
do not file an answer, judgment may be entered against you for the full amount of the plaintiff's 
claim, plus the plaintiff's court costs. You must pay a fee to the court to file an answer, although you 
may request a waiver or deferral.

NOTICE: A separate Summons must be issued and served to each defendant named in the complaint.

Seal

(                 )               -



Pima County Justice Courts, Arizona

CASE NUMBER:

The Statutory Agent /  Corporate Officer to be served is:

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

______________________
Plaintiff(s)  Name / Address / Email / Phone

NOTICE OF AUTHORIZATION TO APPEAR

If you are representing a partnership, an association or any other organization, please provide this notice to the court 
indicating your position and authority to represent an action on behalf of the partnership, association or organization.  This 
letter must be signed by someone who has authority to appoint, such as the president of your organization.

The lawsuit will not go forward without the written authorization.  (A.R.S. 22-512)

1. List the name, address and position of the person appearing:

Name: ______________________________________________

Address: ____________________________________________

City, State, Zip Code: __________________________________

Job Title or relationship to the defendant or plaintiff you want to appear for:

___________________________________________________________

2. Who are you appearing for?

A defendant in this case (name): __________________________________________

A plaintiff in this case (name): ____________________________________________
3. Tell us about the defendant or plaintiff you are appearing for:

I am appearing for a (check one)
Corporation and I am an employee, officer, or director of that corporation.
Partnership and I am an employee, officer, director or partner of that partnership.
Other business (not a corporation, partnership or sole proprietorship) and I am an employee, officer, or director of that
business.
Government agency or other public entity and I am an employee, officer, or director of that agency or entity.
Sole proprietorship and I am an employee of that business.  I am qualified to testify about business record made in the
regular court of business at or near the time of the event.
Association created to manage a common interest development and I am an agent, management company representative
or bookkeeper for that association.
Husband or wife and my spouse and I are both listed on this claim and agree that either spouse can appear for the other.
Other (explain): _____________________________________________________________________________________

4. I declare under penalty of perjury that the information above is true and correct.

Date: ________________________________

Signature: __________________________________________
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240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171 601 N. La Cañada Dr., Green Valley, AZ 85614 (520) 222-0200 
     

111 W. La Mina Ave., Ajo, AZ 85321 (520) 387-7684 
     

__________________________________ 
Defendant  Name

__________________________________ 
Defendant  Name

__________________________________ 
Defendant  Name

__________________________________ 
Defendant  Name



Pima County Justice Courts, Arizona

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

______________________
Defendant(s)  Name / Address / Email / Phone

CASE NUMBER:

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

______________________
Plaintiff(s)  Name / Address / Email / Phone

240 N. Stone Ave.    Tucson, AZ 85701 601 N. La Cañada Dr.     Green Valley, AZ 85614 
     

111 W. La Mina Ave.     Ajo, AZ 85321240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 601 N. La Cañada Dr., Green Valley, AZ 85614 111 W. La Mina Ave., Ajo, AZ 85321 
     

SMALL CLAIMS PROOF OF SERVICE BY REGISTERED OR CERTIFIED MAIL 

A copy of the summons, complaint, and Notice to the Plaintiff and Defendant in this action was served 
by registered or certified mail to the above-named defendant. 

The date of delivery, as shown on the attached return receipt. 

The date the return receipt is filed with the court because the date of delivery was not entered or the 
date is illegible. 

ATTACH 
GREEN CARD 

HERE 

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3717 601 N. La Cañada Dr., Green Valley, AZ 85614 (520) 222-0200 
     

111 W. La Mina Ave., Ajo, AZ 85321 (520) 387-7684 
     

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171 
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The return receipt is attached (green card or return receipt printed from the postal or delivery service website). 

The date of service is:



SMALL CLAIMS ANSWER

Pima County Justice Courts, Arizona

CASE NUMBER:

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

______________________
Plaintiff(s)  Name / Address / Email / Phone

240 N. Stone Ave.    Tucson, AZ 85701 601 N. La Cañada Dr.     Green Valley, AZ 85614 
     

111 W. La Mina Ave.     Ajo, AZ 85321240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 601 N. La Cañada Dr., Green Valley, AZ 85614 111 W. La Mina Ave., Ajo, AZ 85321 
     

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3717 601 N. La Cañada Dr., Green Valley, AZ 85614 (520) 222-0200 
     

111 W. La Mina Ave., Ajo, AZ 85321 (520) 387-7684 
     

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171 
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THTHERE ARE NO APPEALS IN SMALL CLAIMS CASES.
WARNING:  You do not have the right to appeal the decision of the hearing officer or the justice of the peace in a small 
claims court.  If you wish to preserve your right to appeal, you may have your case transferred to the justice court pursuant to 
§ 22-504, subsection A, Arizona Revised Statutes, if you request such transfer at least ten (10) days prior to the day of the
scheduled hearing.

DEFENDANT'S ANSWER
You must file with this court a written answer to the complaint within twenty (20) days after service and deliver a copy to the 
plaintiff. If you do not file an answer, judgment may be entered against you for the full amount of the plaintiff's claim, plus the 
plaintiff's court costs. You must pay a fee to the court to file an answer, although you may request a waiver or deferral. The 
court will schedule a hearing date and hold a hearing within sixty (60) days after you file your answer.

I am answering on behalf of      Myself      Marital Community      Other:

I do not owe plaintiff because:

Date:
Defendant (Print Name) Defendant (Signature)

NOTICE: If you are representing a corporation, partnership, association, or other organization, you must attach a letter of 
authorization. 
Interpreter:       Yes, I need interpreter services.  Language:  __________________

Defendant Signature

I CERTIFY that a copy of this document will be provided by (circle one) hand-delivery/ first-class mail/ electronic means on 
to: Plaintiff Any other named defendants 

 By: Date: 

Date

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

__________________________________ 

______________________
Defendant's  Name / Address / Email / Phone



READ THIS NOTICE CAREFULLY 

Notice to Plaintiff and Defendant: A small claims lawsuit has been filed in justice court. 

• A small claims lawsuit is an informal way to resolve civil disputes that are $3,500 or less. 
• Parties in a lawsuit are called “plaintiff” and “defendant.” Plaintiffs start a lawsuit by filing a complaint
against defendants.
• PLAINTIFF: A lawsuit against the defendant cannot proceed without proper service as described in
the Arizona Rules of Small Claims Procedure. When you file your complaint, the court will provide you
with a summons and a copy of this notice that you must serve on each defendant along with the
complaint. You must file proof of service within 45 calendar days or your case may be dismissed. If
proof of service is not timely filed or your case is not concluded within 65 days of the date the defendant
was served, the court may dismiss your case unless it finds a good reason not to.
• DEFENDANT: You must file a written answer and mail a copy to the plaintiff. Otherwise, judgment
may be entered against you. If you have a claim against the plaintiff, even if it is based on a different
event than described in the complaint, you may file a counterclaim and must mail a copy to the plaintiff.
• BOTH PARTIES: You must provide supporting evidence for your claims and defenses and must
appear at all scheduled hearings or alternative dispute resolution conferences.
• A justice of the peace or a hearing officer with specialized training will conduct the hearing. You
should be prepared to clearly present your evidence. Although you may be permitted to appear
telephonically if needed, you must submit all evidence to the court before the hearing. If you fail to
appear at a hearing, the court may enter a judgment against you. To ensure that you receive these
notices, you must keep the court informed, in writing, of your current address and telephone number
until the lawsuit is over.
• You must follow the Arizona Revised Statutes and Arizona Rules of Small Claims Procedure that
apply in your lawsuit. The statutes and rules are available in many public libraries and at the
courthouse. The statutes are also online at the Arizona State Legislature webpage, and the rules are
online at the Arizona Judicial Branch Court Rules webpage.
• You must properly complete court papers and file them when they are due. Blank forms are on the
Arizona Judicial Branch website and available from any justice court.
• Some filings require a filing fee. Parties can request a fee waiver or deferral from the court but must
still file documents on time.
• Court staff cannot give legal advice but can provide information about jurisdiction, venue, pleadings,
and procedures for the small claims division of the justice court.
• There are no attorneys in a small claims lawsuit unless the parties agree in writing. Individuals
usually represent themselves. One spouse may represent both spouses. A full-time corporate officer or
authorized employee may represent a corporation; an active general partner or an authorized full-time
employee may represent a partnership; an active member or an authorized full-time employee may
represent an association; and any other organization may be represented by one of its active members
or authorized full-time employees.
• Parties cannot appeal a small claims judgment. Parties may request to transfer the lawsuit from
small claims to the regular civil division of the justice court. A transfer will allow:

- Attorney representation without written agreement;
- Counterclaims for more than $3,500;
- Motions that are not permitted in small claims lawsuits;
- A jury trial; and
- An appeal.
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