
JP06B (Rev 10/03/2022) XV  

PIMA COUNTY CONSOLIDATED JUSTICE COURT 
 TRIBUNAL CONSOLIDADO DE PAZ DEL CONDADO DE PIMA 

240 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85701 
(520) 724-3171 

www.jp.pima.gov 
 

EVICTION ACTION INSTRUCTIONS TO PLAINTIFF 
INSTRUCCIONES PARA EL DEMANDANTE ACERCA DE LA 

DEMANDA DE DESALOJO 
 

An eviction (Forcible Detainer/Special Detainer) action is filed for alleged violations of the lease or 
rental agreement or of the Arizona Residential/Mobile Home Landlord and Tenant Act. The rental 
property subject to the action must be located in the Pima County Justice Courts jurisdiction.   

 
Una demanda de desalojo (detención forzosa/detención especial) se presenta por presuntos 
quebrantamientos del contrato de arrendamiento o de la Ley de Arrendador e Inquilino 
Residencial/Casa Móvil en el estado de Arizona. La propiedad de alquiler sujeta a la demanda debe 
estar ubicada en la jurisdicción de los Tribunales de la Paz del Condado de Pima.  
 
You may file an eviction action in the Justice Court if the total amount due does not exceed 
$10,000.00, exclusive of interest, court costs and attorney fees. If the amount exceeds $10,000.00 you 
must file in the Pima County Superior Court. 
 
Usted puede presentar una demanda de desalojo en el Tribunal la Paz si el monto total adeudado no 
excede los $10,000.00, sin incluir intereses, costos judiciales y honorarios de abogados. Si la cantidad 
excede los $10,000.00, debe presentar la demanda en el Tribunal Superior del Condado de Pima.   
 

1. PRE-FILING REQUIREMENTS 
Before filing an eviction action, notice must be given to the tenant. The type of notice and time the 
tenant has to fix the problem depends on the nature of the allegation. These time standards are 
different for tenants renting a space in a mobile home park.  More information can be found at 
www.housing.az.gov or www.azcourts.gov/selfservicecenter/Eviction-Actions.  
 
 

1.          REQUISITOS DE PRESENTACION PREVIA 
Se debe notificar al inquilino antes de presentar una demanda de desalojo. El tipo de aviso y el 
tiempo que tiene el inquilino para solucionar el problema depende de la naturaleza de los alegatos. 
Estos estándares de tiempo son diferentes para los inquilinos que alquilan un espacio en un 
estacionamiento de casas móviles. Para encontrar más información visite  www.housing.az.gov o 
www.azcourts.gov/selfservicecenter/Eviction-Actions.  
 

Non-Payment of Rent 
Before a lawsuit requesting that the tenant be evicted for non-payment of rent can be filed, the 
tenant must be given a five-day notice and an opportunity to pay the amount due in full.  The 
eviction lawsuit can be filed on or after the sixth calendar day. 
 

 
 

http://www.jp.pima.gov/
http://www.housing.az.gov/
http://www.azcourts.gov/selfservicecenter/Eviction-Actions
http://www.housing.az.gov/
http://www.azcourts.gov/selfservicecenter/Eviction-Actions
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Falta de pago del alquiler 
Antes de que se pueda presentar una demanda solicitando que el inquilino sea desalojado por 
no pagar el alquiler, se le debe dar al inquilino un aviso de cinco días y la oportunidad de pagar 
el monto adeudado en su totalidad. La demanda de desalojo se puede presentar en o después 
del sexto día natural.  
 
Material Non-Compliance 
If the landlord alleges a material noncompliance with the lease, (e.g. violating the rules of the 
apartment complex, unauthorized pets) then the landlord must give the tenant a ten-day 
notice and an opportunity to come into compliance with the terms of the lease. The eviction 
lawsuit can be filed on or after the eleventh day. 
 
Incumplimiento material 
Si el arrendador alega un incumplimiento material del contrato de arrendamiento (por 
ejemplo, quebrantar las reglas del complejo de apartamentos, tener mascotas no autorizadas), 
entonces el arrendador debe darle al inquilino un aviso de diez días y la oportunidad de 
cumplir con los términos del contrato de arrendamiento. La demanda de desalojo se puede 
presentar en o después del undécimo día.  
 
Material Non-Compliance Affecting Health and Safety 
If the landlord alleges a material noncompliance with the lease that affects health and safety, 
then the landlord must give the tenant a five-day notice and an opportunity to come into 
compliance with the terms of the lease. The eviction lawsuit can be filed on or after the sixth 
day. 
 
Incumplimiento material que afecta la salud y la seguridad 
Si el arrendador alega un incumplimiento material del contrato de arrendamiento que afecta la 
salud y la seguridad, entonces el arrendador debe darle al inquilino un aviso de cinco días y la 
oportunidad de cumplir con los términos del contrato de arrendamiento. La demanda de desalojo 
se puede presentar en o después del sexto día.  
 
Material and Irreparable Breach 
If the landlord alleges that the tenant has committed a material and irreparable breach, then 
the landlord can deliver a notice of immediate termination of the rental agreement. The lawsuit 
requesting an eviction can be filed on the same day. Examples of a material and irreparable 
breach include but are not limited to gang activity, the discharge of a weapon on the premises 
or inflicting serious bodily harm on another. 
 
Incumplimiento material e irreparable 
Si el arrendador alega que el inquilino ha cometido un incumplimiento material e irreparable, 
entonces el arrendador puede entregar un aviso de terminación inmediata del contrato del 
alquiler. La demanda que solicita el desalojo se puede presentar en el mismo día. Los ejemplos 
de un incumplimiento material e irreparable incluyen entre otros, la actividad de pandillas, la 
descarga de un arma en las instalaciones o infligir daños graves corporales a otra persona.  
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If the notice was mailed by certified or registered mail, add an additional 5 days before filing the 
lawsuit. The notice time periods are mandatory and your case may be dismissed if you file too early. 

 
Si el aviso se envió por correo certificado o registrado, agregue 5 días adicionales antes de presentar la 
demanda. Los periodos de tiempo para avisarle a la otra parte son obligatorios y su caso puede ser 
desestimado si presenta la solicitud demasiado pronto.  
 

All forms can be found on our website at www.jp.pima.gov or at our customer service windows at  
240 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85701 

Todos los formularios se encuentran en nuestra página web en www.jp.pima.gov o visite nuestras ventanillas 
de servicio al cliente en 240 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85701 

 
2.        BEGINNING THE LAWSUIT 

Complete the Eviction Action summons and complaint (form JP06). File the summons and complaint at 
the customer service window and pay the required filing fee. The clerk will create a case and provide a 
court date within 3 to 6 business days. 
 

2.          INICIO DE LA DEMANDA  
Llene en su totalidad el citatorio y la demanda de desalojo (formulario JP06). Presente el citatorio y la 
demanda al actuario que se encuentra en la ventanilla de servicio al cliente y pague la cuota judicial 
requerida. El actuario generará un caso y le proporcionará una fecha de audiencia dentro de 3 a 6 días 
hábiles.   

  
3.         GIVING NOTICE TO THE TENANT 

After the clerk has assigned a case number and court date and time, the tenant must be served. The 
summons, complaint, the residential eviction information sheet and the lease agreement must be 
served by a constable or process server. If the action is based on non-payment of rent a copy of the 
accounting of charges and payments for the preceding six months must be served with the complaint. 
You may contact the Pima County Constables Office at (520) 724-5442 or search for private process 
servers in the yellow pages or internet.  A fee will be required and will be determined by the serving 
agency.  After the tenant has been served, proof of service must be filed with the court prior to the 
scheduled hearing. 
 

 3.            ENTREGAR AVISO AL INQUILINO  
Después de que el actuario haya designado un número de caso, se le debe notificar al inquilino la hora 
y fecha de la audiencia. El citatorio, la demanda, la hoja de información acerca de desalojo residencial 
y el contrato de arrendamiento deben ser entregados por un alguacil o notificador de proceso. Si la 
demanda se basa porque no se ha pagado el alquiler, se debe entregar una copia de la contabilidad de 
cargos y pagos de seis meses anteriores junto con la demanda. Usted puede comunicarse con la Oficina 
de Alguaciles del Condado de Pima al (520) 724-5442 o buscar notificadores de proceso privados en la 
sección amarilla o en el internet. Se requerirá una cuota y será determinada por la agencia de 
notificación. Después de que se le haya notificado al inquilino, se debe presentar un comprobante de 
notificación al tribunal antes de la audiencia programada. 

http://www.jp.pima.gov/
http://www.jp.pima.gov/


 

 
 
4.        FILING DISMISSALS 

If the tenant pays the rent due, moves out, or has settled the dispute at least one day before the hearing 
date, you must file a dismissal (form CV5) with the court and give the tenant a copy. The hearing date will 
be vacated and the case will be closed. 
 

4.          PRESENTAR DESESTIMACION DEL CASO 
Si el inquilino paga el alquiler adeudado, se muda o resuelve la disputa al menos un día antes de la fecha de 
la audiencia, usted debe presentar una desestimación del caso (formulario CV5) ante el tribunal y entregarle 
una copia al inquilino. Se anulará la fecha de la audiencia y se cerrará el caso.  

 
5.        APPEARING IN COURT 

On the hearing date, you must appear and provide testimony. The Judge will listen to both you and the 
tenant(s) and will decide if judgment should be entered and whether or not the tenant(s) must move. Be 
prepared to provide documentation such as a contract, proof of past due rent or police report. If a judgment 
is entered, the Judge will also order a date when you may file a "Writ of Restitution” which is required to 
remove the tenant from the property. 
 

5. COMPARECER EN EL TRIBUNAL  
Usted debe comparecer y prestar testimonio en la fecha de audiencia. El Juez los escuchará a usted y al(los) 
inquilino(s) y decidirá si se debe emitir un fallo y si el(los) inquilino(s) deben mudarse o no. Prepárese para 
proporcionar documentación tal y cómo un contrato, comprobante del alquiler adeudado o informe 
policiaco. Si se emite un fallo, el Juez también ordenará una fecha en la que puede presentar una “orden de 
restitución” que se requiere para desalojar al inquilino de la propiedad.   

 
6. THE EVICTION PROCESS 

If the tenant has not moved out, you can file a Writ of Restitution (form JP406) on or after the date ordered 
by the Judge. The Writ of Restitution must be served by the Pima County Constables. The Constable will 
require a fee for servicing the Writ of Restitution; for more information you can call (520) 724-5442.  The 
Constable will then go to the property and serve the tenant. The tenant will be required to leave the 
property immediately. 
 

6.         EL PROCESO DE DESALOJO 
Si el inquilino no se ha mudado, puede presentar una orden de restitución (formulario JP406) en o después 
de la fecha ordenada por el juez. La orden de restitución debe ser entregada por los alguaciles del condado 
de Pima. El alguacil requerirá una tarifa por entregar la orden de restitución. Para más información puede 
llamar al (520) 724-5442. El alguacil después irá a la propiedad y notificará al inquilino. El inquilino deberá 
desalojar la propiedad de inmediato.   

 
7. THE COLLECTION OF A MONEY JUDGMENT 

If you receive a money judgment, the court offers forms and instructions regarding collection options but 
does not assist in the collection process. You may attempt to collect by sending a demand letter to the 
tenant and if that is not successful, you may pursue additional collection remedies available through the 
court. Please see the Collecting of a Money Judgment form (JP193). 
 

 7.         LA RECUPERACION DE UN FALLO MONETARIO  
Si usted recibe un fallo monetario, el tribunal ofrece formularios e instrucciones sobre las opciones para que 
pueda recuperar su dinero, pero no le puede ayudar en el proceso de recuperación. Puede intentar la 



 

recuperación enviando una carta de demanda al inquilino y si no hay buenos resultados, puede buscar más 
recursos disponibles de recuperación a través del tribunal. Consulte el formulario de la recuperación de un 
fallo monetario (formulario JP193). 

 
8. NOTIFICATION OF SATISFACTION OF JUDGMENT 

After you collect the judgment, you must file a Satisfaction of Judgment (forms CV5) with the Court. 
 
8.         AVISO DE SATISFACCION DEL FALLO 

Después de haber recuperado su fallo, debe presentar el formulario Satisfacción del fallo (formulario CV5) 
ante el Juez.  
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PIMA COUNTY CONSOLIDATED JUSTICE COURT 
 (TRIBUNAL CONSOLIDADO DE PAZ DEL CONDADO DE PIMA) 

240 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85701 
(520) 724-3171 

www.jp.pima.gov 

PLAINTIFF / (Demandante) 
 
 
 
 
 
(Name/Address/Telephone) 
(Nombre/Dirección/Teléfono) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

CASE NO. 
(No. de Caso) 

 
 

 

EVICTION 
SUMMONS 
(CITATORIO DE 

DESALOJO) 
 
 
 
 

 

DEFENDANT / (Demandado(a)) 
 
 
 
  
 

(Name/Address/Telephone) 
(Nombre/Dirección/Teléfono) 

 
THE STATE OF ARIZONA TO THE DEFENDANT(S) NAMED ABOVE: 
(EL ESTADO DE ARIZONA AL EL/LOS DEMANDADO(S) NOMBRADOS MENCIONADO(S) 
ANTERIORMENTE:) 

 
1. YOU ARE SUMMONED TO APPEAR and answer this complaint in the court named above. 

(SE LE HA CITADO A COMPARECER y contestar a esta demanda en el tribunal mencionado anteriormente.) 
 
 

Trial Date/Time:   Courtroom:    
(Fecha del Juicio/Hora:)                                                                            (Sala:) 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                     
*Courtroom subject to change* 

                                                                                                                                                              (*Sala sujeta a cambios*)                                                                                                                                                       
You have the option to appear by video, by telephone, or in person. 

See the Notice of Hearing attached for detailed information. 
 

(Tiene la opción de comparecer por video, teléfono o en persona. 
Revise la Notificación de Audiencia adjunta para más detalles.)  

 
Location: 240 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85701 

(Lugar: 240 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85701) 
 

Please appear at least 15 minutes before the scheduled hearing. 
(Preséntese al menos 15 minutos antes de la audiencia programada.) 

 
If an interpreter is needed for this hearing, please call (520)724-3171. Please provide the court immediate notice if 

an interpreter will be needed.  This will ensure an interpreter is available at your hearing. 
 

Si necesita un intérprete para esta audiencia, llame al (520)724-3171. Notifique inmediatamente al tribunal si 
necesita un intérprete. Esto asegurará que un intérprete esté disponible en su audiencia. 

 
Nếu Qy qúy vị cân thông dịch viên, vui lòng gọi (520)724-3171. Vui lòng thông báo ngay cho tòa án nếu cần 

thông dịch viên. Điều này sẽ đảm bảo có thông dịch viên tại phiên điều trần của quý vị. 
 

 (520) 3171-724  الآتى مقرلاب الإتصال الرجاء ، الجلسة  لھذه مجرتم إلى ةجاح ھناك كان اذا
 . كب الخاصة  الجلسة داخل مجرتم تواجد نمضی ذلك  فإن   .  مجرتم إلى الحاجة ةلاح  ىف  فورا  المحكمة إخطار الرجاء

 
Requests for reasonable accommodation for persons with disabilities must be made to the court by parties 

at least 3 working days in advance of a scheduled court proceeding. 
 

(Aquellos con discapacidades que requieran modificaciones razonables deben solicitarlas al tribunal por lo 
menos 3 días hábiles antes de su audiencia programada.) 

 

 
  

 

http://www.jp.pima.gov/
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2. You must appear at the date and time shown above if you wish to contest the allegations in the attached 

complaint. For additional information, please see the attached Residential Eviction Information Sheet. 
(Si usted desea refutar los alegatos en la demanda adjunta, usted debe comparecer el día y la hora 
mencionada arriba. Para más información, lea la hoja adjunta de Información de Desalojos Residenciales.) 

 
3. If you do not agree with the allegations in the complaint, you may file a written Answer admitting or denying 

some or all of the allegations.  
(Si usted no está de acuerdo con los alegatos escritos en la demanda, debe presentar una Contestación por 
escrito aceptando o negando algunos o todos los alegatos.)  

 
4. If you have statutory basis to file a counterclaim, which is limited to damages resulting from the landlord's 

breach of the lease or violation of the Residential Landlord Tenant Act, it must be in writing and served upon 
the opposing party. 
(Si existe fundamento legal que le permita presentar una contrademanda, que se limita a los daños que 
resulten del incumplimiento del contrato de arrendamiento por parte del arrendador o quebrantamiento de 
la Ley de Arrendador e Inquilino Residencial, debe presentarlo por escrito y entregar la notificación legal a 
la parte contraria.) 

 
5. A trial may be held on the date stated above or it may be continued for up to three days. 

(El juicio se puede celebrar en la fecha mencionada anteriormente o se puede aplazar por hasta tres días.) 
 

6. The Plaintiff or the Plaintiff’s attorney must be given a copy of your Answer and any other pleading you file 
in this case to the address above or before the court date above. 
(Se le debe entregar una copia de su Contestación y alguna otra declaración que usted presente en este 
caso al demandante o el/la abogado(a) del demandante a la dirección mencionada anteriormente o antes de 
la fecha de audiencia mencionada anteriormente.)  

 
7. IF YOU FAIL TO APPEAR, a default judgment will likely be entered against you, granting the relief 

specifically requested in the complaint, including removing you from the property. 
(Si no comparece, es probable que se emita un fallo en su contra, concediendo las peticiones solicitadas 
específicamente en la demanda, incluyendo su expulsión de la propiedad.) 

 
 
 
 

Date:       
(Fecha:) Justice of the Peace 

(Juez de Paz) 
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PIMA COUNTY CONSOLIDATED JUSTICE COURT 
 TRIBUNAL CONSOLIDADO DE PAZ DEL CONDADO DE PIMA 

240 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85701 
(520) 724-3171 

www.jp.pima.gov 

PLAINTIFF / (Demandante) 
 
 
 
    

   (Name/Address/Telephone) 
(Nombre/Dirección/Teléfono) 

CASE NO. 
(NO. DE CASO) 

 
 

 

EVICTION 
COMPLAINT 

(DEMANDA DE DESALOJO) 
□ Residential ⁭ Mobile Home ⁭ Commercial 

(Residencial) (Casa móvil) (Comercial) 

DEFENDANT / (Demandado(a)) 
 
 
 

 

   (Name/Address/Telephone) 
(Nombre/Dirección/Teléfono) 

YOUR LANDLORD IS SUING TO HAVE YOU EVICTED. PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 
(SU ARRENDADOR LO(A) ESTÁ DEMANDANDO PARA QUE LO(A) DESALOJEN. FAVOR DE LEER CON 

CUIDADO) 
 

1. This court has jurisdiction to hear this case. The property is within this court’s judicial precinct. 
(Este tribunal tiene jurisdicción para ventilar este caso. La propiedad se encuentra dentro del distrito judicial de 

este tribunal.) 
 

2.    The Defendant wrongfully withholds possession of this property located at:   . 
(El demandado(a) retiene ilícitamente la posesión de esta propiedad ubicada en:   .) 

 
3. Any required written notice was served on the Defendant on         and was served in the following 
manner:    .  A copy of this notice is attached. 
(Cualquier aviso requerido por escrito se le notificó al demandado(a) en                       y fue notificado(a) de 

la siguiente manera:  . Se adjunta una copia de este aviso.) 
 

4. The Plaintiff is authorized to file this action and has done so for the following reason(s): 
(El demandante está autorizado(a) de presentar esta demanda y lo ha hecho debido a la(s) siguiente(s) razón(es):) 

 
RENT: The Defendant has failed to pay rent as agreed.  The rent is unpaid since                                        , 
20                              . The rental agreement requires rent to be paid each month on the                    day 
of each month in the amount of $       .  The lease provides for late fees and that the late 
fees are calculated in the following manner                                                                                                     . 

 
(ALQUILER: El demandado(a) no pagó el alquiler como lo acordado. El alquiler no se pagó desde
              20       . El contrato de arrendamiento requiere que el alquiler se pague cada mes en el
             día de cada mes en la cantidad de $               . El arrendamiento establece cargos atrasados y que 
los cargos atrasados se calculen de la siguiente manera:                                                                                .)                                                                     
 
Notice: If you are a residential tenant and the only allegation from your landlord is that you have not paid 
your rent, you may contact your landlord or your landlord’s attorney and offer to pay all the of rent due, 
plus any reasonable late fees, court costs and attorney’s fees. If you pay these amounts prior to entry of 
judgment this case will be dismissed and your lease will be reinstated and will continue. All agreements 
should be in writing and the landlord should provide receipts for money tendered. 
 
(Aviso: Si usted es un inquilino(a) residencial y el único alegato de su arrendador es que usted no ha 
pagado su alquiler, puede contactar a su arrendador o al abogado(a) de su arrendador y ofrecerle a pagar 
todo el alquiler que se deba, además de cualquier cargo atrasado, costos del tribunal y honorarios del 
abogado(a). Si usted paga estas cantidades antes de que se asiente un fallo el caso será desestimado y su 
contrato de arrendamiento será restablecido y continuará vigente. Todos los acuerdos deben de estar por 
escrito y el arrendador debe proveer recibos de los pagos obtenidos.) 

 
 
 
  
  

http://www.jp.pima.gov/
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NON-COMPLIANCE: The Defendant committed, and has failed to remedy, a condition that is a material 
non-compliance of the rental agreement.  After receiving a notice to remedy the problem, the Defendant, 
on                                                                  , 20                    , caused or allowed the following condition to 
occur:                     

                               . 
 

(INCUMPLIMIENTO: El demandado(a) ha creado una situación que no ha remediado, una condición de 
incumplimiento material del contrato de arrendamiento. Después de recibir un aviso para remediar el 
problema, el demandado(a), en                                                                          ,20  , causó 
o permitió que ocurriera la siguiente condición:                                                                                                              
                                                                                                                                                                      .) 

 
NON-COMPLIANCE AFFECTING HEALTH AND SAFETY: The Defendant committed, and has failed 
to remedy, a condition that is a material non-compliance affecting health and safety. After receiving a notice 
to remedy the problem, the Defendant, on  , 20  , caused or allowed the following condition to occur: 
                                                                                                                                                                        . 
 
(INCUMPLIMIENTO QUE AFECTA LA SALUD Y LA SEGURIDAD: El demandado(a) ha creado una 
situación que no ha remediado, resultando ser un incumplimiento sustancial que afecta la salud y la 
seguridad. Después de haber recibido un aviso para remediar el problema el                                      , 
20  , el demandado causó o permitió que ocurriera la siguiente situación: 
                                                                                                                                                                     .) 
 
IRREPARABLE BREACH:  The Defendant has committed a material and irreparable breach.   
On                                                 , 20               , the Defendant did the following:                                            
                                                                                                                                                                       . 
 

(INCUMPLIMIENTO IRREPARABLE: El demandado(a) ha cometido un incumplimiento material 
irreparable.  En                            , 20        , el demandado(a) hizo lo siguiente:                                  
                                                                                                                                                                        .) 

               
5. As of the date that this action is being filed, the Defendant owes the following: 

(A partir de la fecha en que se presentó esta demanda, el demandado(a) debe lo siguiente:) 
Rent (From Current and Prior Months) Totaling: 
(Alquiler (Del mes actual y de los meses anteriores) Un total de:)…….…….   $                                    
Late Fees / (Cargos Atrasados): ……………………………………………   $                                     
Rental Concessions / (Concesiones del alquiler:)…………………………… $                                     
Costs / (Costos:) …………………………………………………………….  $                                     
Attorney’s Fees / (Honorarios del abogado(a):) …………………………..   $                                     
Other Damages / (Otros Daños:)………………………………………….………  $                                      
Total Amount Requested / (Cantidad total solicitada:) ……………….........  $                                        

6. The Plaintiff requests a money judgment for the amounts described above and also a judgment for 
possession of the property.  
(El demandante solicita un fallo monetario para las cantidades descritas anteriormente y también 
un fallo para la posesión de la propiedad.) 
 

7. WRIT OF RESTITUTION: The Plaintiff requests the court issue a Writ of Restitution, returning 
the property to the Plaintiff’s possession. 
(ORDEN DE RESTITUCIÓN: El demandante solicita al tribunal que emita una orden de 
restitución, regresando la propiedad a la posesión del demandante.) 
 

8. By signing this complaint, I verify that assertions are true and correct to the best of my 
knowledge and belief and that they are based on a reasonably diligent inquiry. 
(Al firmar esta demanda, verifico que las aseveraciones son verdaderas y correctas de lo mejor de 
mi conocimiento y creencia y que están basados en una investigación razonablemente diligente.) 
 

___________________________________         ____________________________________________________ 
Date Plaintiff’s Signature 
Fecha Firma del demandante 
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RESIDENTIAL EVICTION INFORMATION SHEET (REIS) 

(PUBLICATION AND DISTRIBUTION REQUIRED BY THE ARIZONA SUPREME COURT) 

 

HOJA DE INFORMACIÓN LEGAL SOBRE EL DESALOJO DE VIVIENDA (REIS por sus siglas en inglés) 
(EL TRIBUNAL SUPREMO DE ARIZONA EXIGE LA PUBLICACIÓN Y DISTRIBUCIÓN DEL PRESENTE DOCUMENTO) 

 

Notice  A landlord must provide a tenant with written notice saying why the eviction process has started.  The tenant 

should have received this notice before this lawsuit was filed or with the summons.   

 

Aviso  El arrendador le debe entregar al inquilino un aviso por escrito que explica por qué se ha empezado el proceso 

de desalojo. El inquilino debe recibir este aviso o bien antes de entablar esta demanda o bien con la citación de 

comparecencia. 

  

Rent Cases  If this lawsuit has been filed for not paying rent, the tenant can stop it and continue living in the residence 

by paying all rent now due, late fees, attorney’s fees and court costs. After a judgment has been granted, reinstatement 

of the lease is solely in the landlord’s discretion. A “judgment” is the court’s final decision about the parties’ dispute 

that can be enforced against a party. Inability to pay rent is not a legal defense and the judge cannot give more time to 

pay, even if the tenant is having financial problems. 

 

Casos que implican el pago del alquiler  Si se ha entablado la demanda porque no se ha pagado el alquiler, el inquilino 

puede detener dicha acción y quedarse en la vivienda al pagar todo el alquiler vencido, los cargos por mora, honorarios 

de abogado y costas judiciales. Después de haberse dictado la sentencia, quedará a criterio exclusivo del arrendador 

reanudar el contrato de alquiler. La “sentencia” es la decisión definitiva del juez sobre la controversia de las partes 

que se puede ejecutar en contra de una de las partes. El no poder pagar el alquiler no es una defensa legal y el juez no 

le puede ampliar el plazo al inquilino para pagar, aunque el inquilino tenga problemas económicos. 

  

Before Court  Eviction cases move through the court system very quickly. If the tenant disagrees with the landlord’s 

allegations, the tenant is encouraged to file a written answer. The answer form available from the justice court allows 

the tenant to admit or deny the allegations and explain his or her position. There is no fee to file an answer. If a tenant 

believes that the landlord owes him or her money, the tenant may under some circumstances file a counterclaim. The 

summons states that a trial will occur on the date listed, but due to the high volume of cases, a trial may not occur 

then. A landlord, tenant, attorney, or witness will be permitted to participate at the initial hearing by telephone or video 

conference. Unless the court has also provided instructions for appearing virtually, a person choosing to do so must 

contact the court at least two (2) hours before the hearing for instructions about how to connect to the hearing. If the 

tenant fails to appear, and the landlord or his attorney is present, a judgment will probably be entered against the 

tenant. Tenants can represent themselves or arrange for a lawyer or licensed paraprofessional to represent them. The 

court will not provide a lawyer. Contact information for legal assistance is at the end of “Sources of Additional 

Information” below. 

 

Antes de llegar al tribunal  Los casos de desalojo avanzan en el tribunal de manera muy rápida. Si el inquilino no 

está de acuerdo con lo que alega el arrendador, se le recomienda presentar una contestación por escrito. El formulario 

de la contestación se puede obtener en el tribunal y le permite al inquilino aceptar o rechazar las pretensiones y explicar 

su postura. No se cobra ninguna cuota para presentar la contestación. Si el inquilino cree que el arrendador le debe 

dinero, en ciertas circunstancias el inquilino podrá entablar una contrademanda. La citación de comparecencia incluye 

la fecha en la que se celebrará el juicio oral, pero debido a la cantidad de casos que se presentan, es posible que no se 

celebre el juicio oral en dicha fecha. Se le permitirá a un arrendador, inquilino, abogado o testigo participar en la 

audiencia inicial por teléfono o video conferencia. Salvo que el tribunal haya indicado cómo comparecer a distancia, 

se deberá comunicarse con el tribunal por lo menos dos horas antes de la audiencia para recibir instrucciones sobre 

cómo conectarse a la audiencia. Si el inquilino no comparece ante el tribunal y el arrendador o su abogado está 

presente, es probable que se dicte una sentencia en contra del inquilino. El inquilino puede representarse a sí mismo 

o puede contratar a un abogado o paraprofesional legal acreditado para que le represente. El tribunal no le asignará un 

abogado. Diríjase a la parte final de “Otras fuentes de información” más adelante para obtener información de contacto 

sobre asesoramiento jurídico. 
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At Court  At the time listed on the summons, the judge will start calling cases. If both parties are present, the judge 

will ask the tenant whether the complaint is true.  If the tenant says “no,” he or she will need to briefly tell the judge 

why.  If the reason is a legal defense, the judge will need to hear testimony from both sides and make a decision after 

a trial.  After talking to the landlord or its attorney, a tenant may wish to agree to what the landlord is requesting by 

signing a “stipulation.” A stipulation is an agreement under which the parties resolve the dispute on the basis of what 

the agreement says. Only matters contained in the written stipulation agreement can be enforced. These stipulation 

agreements should be clear and understandable by both parties. Most stipulations include judgments tenants.   

 

En el tribunal  El juez empezará a llamar los casos a la hora establecida en la citación de comparecencia. Si las dos 

partes están presentes, el juez le preguntará al inquilino si lo que se alega en la demanda es cierto. Si la respuesta del 

inquilino es “no”, tendrá que explicar al juez la razón en pocas palabras. Si se trata de una defensa legal, el juez 

necesitará oír testimonio de las dos partes y tomará una decisión después del juicio oral. Después de hablar con el 

arrendador o su abogado, es posible que el inquilino quiera aceptar lo que el arrendador pide y firme una 

“estipulación”. Se trata de un acuerdo mediante el cual las partes resuelven la disputa con base en lo que establezca el 

acuerdo. Solo se puede hacer cumplir lo que esté por escrito en el acuerdo, el cual les debe resultar claro y 

comprehensible a ambas partes. En la mayoría de las estipulaciones se incluye una sentencia contra el inquilino. 

  

Continuances  Either party may ask that the court date be delayed. The court will agree only if there is a very good 

reason. A delay will be no more than three business days. There is no assurance a delay will be granted and parties 

should come to court prepared for trial and bring necessary witnesses and documents.  

 

Aplazamiento  Tanto el arrendador como el inquilino pueden pedir que se aplace el juicio oral. El tribunal solo otorga 

el aplazamiento si existe un motivo muy justificado. Cualquier aplazamiento será de tres días hábiles como máximo. 

No hay ninguna garantía de que se otorgue el aplazamiento y las partes deben llegar preparadas para el juicio oral y 

deben llevar los testigos y documentos necesarios 

  

After a Judgment  If a landlord receives a judgment, it may apply for a “writ of restitution,” which is a legal document 

that allows a landlord to remove the tenant(s) and everyone else living in the home. Writs of Restitution are served by 

constables, who will direct the residents to leave. A tenant may avoid the difficulties associated with a writ of 

restitution by vacating the property and returning the keys to the landlord. This ends the tenants’ possession of the 

residence. A tenant will have five (5) days to vacate the premises unless the court has found a material and irreparable 

breach of the lease by the tenant, in which case the tenant has only twelve (12) to twenty-four (24) hours to vacate. A 

judgment will probably appear on a tenant’s credit report for several years, and may result in collection and 

enforcement actions, such as wages being garnished. Parties wishing to appeal from a judgment have five (5) days to 

do so after the judgment is entered and can obtain forms and information from the court filing counter. If a tenant 

wants to remain in the rental home during the appeal, the tenant must also pay an appropriate bond and continue to 

pay rent into court as it becomes due. If the tenant prevails the court may dismiss the case, or take other action such 

as ordering a new hearing or entering a new judgment. Absent an appeal, the tenant will need to obtain the landlord’s 

approval and enter a new lease to continue living in the residence. 

 

Después de la sentencia  Si el juez le ha otorgado una sentencia al arrendador, este podrá solicitar una “orden de 

restitución”, la cual se trata de un documento legal que le permite al arrendador sacar a los inquilinos y todas las demás 

personas que vivan en la unidad. Los auxiliares de justicia (constables) notifican las órdenes de restitución y a los 

residentes les indicarán que tienen que salir de la propiedad. El inquilino puede evitar las dificultades relacionadas 

con una orden de restitución al desocupar el bien inmueble y devolver las llaves al arrendador, lo que le terminará la 

posesión de la vivienda al inquilino. El inquilino tendrá cinco (5) días para desocupar la propiedad a no ser que el juez 

haya determinado que el inquilino ha incumplido el contrato de alquiler de forma irreparable y sustancial, y en ese 

caso el inquilino solo tendrá de doce (12) a veinticuatro (24) horas para desocupar la propiedad. Es probable que la 

sentencia aparezca en el informe de historial crediticio del inquilino durante varios años y podría ocasionar que se 

tomen medidas de cobro y ejecución, como, por ejemplo, el embargo de sueldo. Después de que se dicte la sentencia, 

las partes tienen cinco días para apelarla y podrán obtener los formularios e información en el mostrador del tribunal. 

Si el inquilino quiere quedarse en la vivienda alquilada durante la apelación, deberá también pagar la fianza 
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correspondiente y seguir pagando el alquiler en el tribunal conforme se venza. Si la opinión del tribunal fuera favorable 

para el inquilino, el juez podría desestimar el caso o tomar otras medidas como ordenar que se celebre otra audiencia 

o dictar una nueva sentencia. Sin una apelación, el inquilino necesitará la aprobación del arrendador y tendrá que 

firmar un contrato de alquiler nuevo para seguir viviendo en la propiedad. 

  

Sources of Additional Information  You can get copies of the Arizona Residential Landlord Tenant Act, the Arizona 

Mobile Home Parks Residential Landlord and Tenant Act and the Long Term Recreational Vehicle Rental Space Act 

from a library or from links on the Arizona Judicial Branch – Eviction Actions web page, 

https://www.azcourts.gov/eviction. For information on the Residential Eviction Action process, please visit:  

https://www.azcourthelp.org. For information on legal services, including attorney referral sources, please visit: 

https://www.azcourthelp.org/home/legalaid-resources. For information about legal paraprofessionals, including a link 

to a directory of providers, please visit: https://www.azcourts.gov/cld/Legal-Paraprofessional.   

 

Otras fuentes de información  Usted puede obtener copias de la Ley de arrendadores e inquilinos de viviendas 

de Arizona, la Ley de arrendadores e inquilinos en parques para casas rodantes de Arizona, la Ley de parcelas 

alquiladas a largo plazo para vehículos de uso recreativo de Arizona de una biblioteca o desde los vínculos en 

la página web de acciones de desalojo del Poder Judicial, https://www.azcourts.gov/eviction.  Para obtener 

información sobre el proceso de las acciones de desalojo en vivienda, diríjase a: https://www.azcourthelp.org.  

Para obtener información sobre servicios jurídicos, incluyendo el servicio de referencia de abogados, diríjase 

a: https://www.azcourthelp.org/home/legalaid-resources.  Para información adicional, incluyendo un enlace 

con una lista de paraprofesionales legales acreditados, diríjase a: https://www.azcourts.gov/cld/Legal-

Paraprofessional.  

https://www.azcourts.gov/eviction
https://www.azcourthelp.org/
https://www.azcourthelp.org/home/legalaid-resources
https://www.azcourts.gov/cld/Legal-Paraprofessional
https://www.azcourts.gov/eviction
https://www.azcourthelp.org/
https://www.azcourthelp.org/home/legalaid-resources
https://www.azcourts.gov/cld/Legal-Paraprofessional
https://www.azcourts.gov/cld/Legal-Paraprofessional
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