A face mask must be worn upon entering the courthouse. A “Mask Required” sign has been posted in courthouse areas where a face mask is required. Those areas include; courtrooms, self-help centers, information counters, clerk window and filing counters, elevators, including any other designated areas where signage has been posted. You must comply with safe distancing protocols.
If you are experiencing flu-like symptoms, fever, cough, or difficulty breathing you should not come to the courthouse. Please contact our customer service line at (520) 724-3171, or visit our contact page at jp.pima.gov/ContactUs for assistance.
The court will have phones available if you do not have the ability to appear remotely.
A face mask must be worn when entering the building. Please notify security personnel once you enter the building and you will be directed to the designated phone area.
In-Custody Video Hearings and Preliminary Hearings will resume as normal.
Many of the services we offer at the courthouse can be done on our website. Read the instructions carefully on each web page to successfully complete each service.
In May, the U. S. District Court for the District of Columbia granted a summary judgment, holding that the CDC lacked statutory authority to impose its COVID eviction moratorium. Alabama Assn. of Realtors v. Department of Health and Human Servs., 2021 WL 1779282, *10 (May 5, 2021). The court stayed its order pending appeal. On August 26, 2021, the United States Supreme Court vacated that stay. This means the CDC moratorium that temporarily prevented evictions in Arizona is no longer in effect. Consequently, the provisions of Section VI of Administrative Order 2021-129 (corrected 8/11/2021) now apply to Arizona eviction case processing.
CARES Act Prohibition: The CARES Act prohibits landlords from charging penalties or late fees for unpaid rent during the 03/27/20 to 07/24/20, time period that the CARES Act moratorium was in effect. Although the federal government's CARES Act is no longer in effect, landlords must continue to use the "Attestation of Plaintiff" form at the time of filing an eviction and any other pleading seeking rent, penalties or interest.
Mortgage Forbearance: Through 09/30/21, there is an ongoing moratorium on evictions for nonpayment of rent for properties with federal mortgages when the landlord is receiving mortgage forbearance (deferred payment) for buildings with 5 or more units. The building mortgage must be backed by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac (FHFA), the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), or the Veterans Administration (VA). To find out if a tenant is in a residence covered by this moratorium, go to Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's webpage and Federal Housing Finance Agency's webpage for tools and information about additional requirements for landlords.
Minimum 30-day Notice to Tenant to Move Out: No landlord (public or private) whose underlying financing for a multifamily property is backed by the federal government (e.g., HUD/FHA or USDA), purchased or securitized by the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (Freddie Mac) or the Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae), or that is receiving assistance from the federal government may require a tenant to vacate their unit for nonpayment of rent until 30 days after the landlord has provided the tenant with a Notice to Vacate. Therefore, writs issued for those properties will be made enforceable after 30 days from the date the “5-Day Notice” is provided as required by state law.
HOW TO FIND OUT IF A MULTIFAMILY PROPERTY HAS AN ENTERPRISE-BACKED LOAN:
Tenants may use Fannie Mae’s and Freddie Mac’s multifamily property lookup tools to determine if they live in a multifamily property with a mortgage
loan purchased or securitized by that Enterprise. These lookup tools do not include other federally-backed properties.
A petitioner must start the protection order process online at https://azpoint.azcourts.gov/. Once the process is complete you will receive a unique confirmation number.
Once a confirmation number is generated the petitioner can contact the court at (520) 724-3942 during normal business hours. A clerk will review your petition, if the petition is complete a hearing will be scheduled and a judge will call you directly.
After normal business hours, an emergency Order of Protection can be requested by contacting the Tucson Police Department (520-741-4444) or the Pima County Sheriff's Department (520-724-4900).
In case of an emergency, call 911.
Fees to File
Orders of Protection and Injunctions Against Harassment are free of charge, except for Injunctions Against
Workplace Harassment that have a filing fee of $103.00. Note: If you are unable to pay for the Injunction Against Harassment,
you may apply for a waiver or deferral. Please inform the clerk at the time you file your petition.
Fees for Service
There is no fee to serve an Orders of Protection but there is a fee to serve an Injunction Against Harassment or an
Injunction Against Workplace Harassment. The fee amount is determined by the service agency.
If you would like to observe a specific hearing(s), you must provide a case number, hearing date and time. If you do choose to remotely observe a hearing, please be patient as the hearing may not begin at the exact time scheduled. You may contact our Customer Service line at (520)724-3171 or via the Contact Page on our website at http://www.jp.pima.gov/ContactUs/.
The Court is currently hearing the majority of our cases telephonically via a conferencing application. If the case is being held using that method, you will be given a call-in number and identification code. You will be placed into the call; however, you will not be able to participate in the hearing. When you speak to the clerk that is managing the hearing, you must identify yourself as a “Gallery Member.”
Some cases are being held using video conferencing. In those cases, you will be provided
instructions regarding joining the meeting via ZOOM. You may use the ZOOM application or
connect via a web URL using the identification code provided to you. When you speak to the clerk
that is managing the hearing, you must identify yourself as a “Gallery Member.” Although you will
be able to observe the video conference, your camera and audio will be muted by the managing
clerk to prevent disruption of the court proceedings.
If you need additional information regarding ZOOM, please visit their website at https://zoom.us.
If the hearing has already been held you can make an online public records request for a copy of the hearing. Visit our Digital Recording Request web page to submit your request. There is a fee associated with these requests, please refer to the fee schedule.